Tomàs Peire Serrate




Awake (2013)

for flute, clarinet in Bb and Bass clarinet, violin, cello, and percussion

Duration 9 minutes

Premiered as part of the Klang series by Uusinta Chamber Ensamble at Musiikkitalo Camerata Hall, Helsinki, on May 6th, 2013.

US Premiere at 2015 Hear Now Music Festival in Los Angeles, at the First Lutheran Church of Venice, on May 2th, 2015.

Program notes

Awake is an interpretation of the limits between the conscious and unconscious, an exploration of the transitional moment were the state of alert is lost. I begaun to sketch this piece in Finland and I was inspired by the long winter nights I spent in Helsinki, composing and resisting the dozing temptation. After a breakbriefly distancing myself from the piece, I finalized it with the present format in New York. Its departureing point is the imagery of flickering of lights over reflecting frozen surfaces in the darkness and its hypnotic effects.

Score available at:

Theodore Front Musical LIterature – Awake