Tomàs Peire Serrate



Awake 3.0

Awake 3.0 (2013)

for flute, clarinet in Bb and Bass clarinet, violin, cello, and piano

Duration 9 minutes

It aas premiered by the Moscow Contemporary Music Ensemble at the UCLA Ostin Music Center on March 4, 2018.

Ivan Bushuev, flute
Oleg Tantsov, clarinet/bass clarinet
Vlad Pessin, violin
Iulia Migunova, cello
Mikhail Dubov, piano

Winner of the UCLA Music Library, Hugo Davise Fund Award.

The score is Published by UCLA Music Library, Hugo Davise Fund.
Matthew Vest, general editor.
Hugo Davise Fund for Contemporary Music

Program notes

Awake 3.0 is an interpretation of the limits between the conscious and the unconscious, an exploration of the transitional moment where the state of being alert is lost. I began to sketch this piece in Finland, inspired by the long winter nights I spent composing and resisting the dozing temptation. After briefly setting it aside, I finalized it in New York. Its departing point is the hypnotic imagery of flickering lights reflected off frozen surfaces in the darkness.
The first version of Awake was for flute, clarinet, violin, violoncello and percussion. Later on, I created a slightly longer version for 15 musicians. The present version replaces percussion with piano and was created for the Moscow Contemporary Music Ensemble residency at UCLA in February-March 2018.

See Awake and Awake 2.0 for previous version of the piece.

Score available at:

Theodore Front Musical Literature – Awake 3.0